Copy of Table Tennis Ireland News copy

Update on Table Tennis Activity

The Events Committee has decided that the competition calendar will be suspended until 2021. Gatherings of players for events continues to be suspended, no competitive tournament or league activity can take place. 

The Committee will be working with the Branches to identify suitable alternative dates for affected Provincial Opens, however the outlook into 2021 remains dynamic, and the situation may for some time continue to be unpredictable.

Subject to restrictions, the situation regarding National Squad activity and Camps will be reviewed again in November, to evaluate the possibility of some limited resumption, before the end of the year, in this area.

The Association will also be organising additional online development modules over the next number of weeks, details of which will be issued in advance.

The situation for Clubs/individuals is as per the TTI Return to Table Tennis Framework, but may also be subject to additional local, travel or jurisdictional restrictions.  Most leisure facilities will be closed in accordance with their limitations under national guidance, and the TTI Protocols or Framework do not supersede such directives.  Any table tennis ‘businesses’, open access facilities, or pay as you play facilities, are also bound by national guidance, limiting commercial activity to specific sectors/companies and categories of worker, and as such should also be closed.  Limited individual activity may take place, in accordance with general governmental guidelines, and only on condition that all necessary hygiene, distancing and facility based protective measures are taken, however all participants should err on the side of caution, subject to the limitations of the space in which they are practicing.  Players should only train or exercise in their own Club, and should not be participating in activity in different Clubs.

As previously stated within TTI Return to Play protocols, all guidance around resumption/continuation of sporting activity is provided for  volunteers and staff whose health circumstances and demographic places them at low risk of infection.  As previously advised, personal or local circumstances, conditions and facilities, including regarding higher dangers of levels of contagion and transmission, and/or the physical layout of particular premises or facilities, may be such as to indicate a longer suspension of activity for certain localities, groups and individuals, according to those specific circumstances.  Individuals, or groups, who consider themselves to be ‘at risk’ should, regarding any future return to activity, make the decision which best suits their circumstances and take the precautions they believe are most suitable for those circumstances.  Thus, the current period of restrictions may be extended by clubs or facilities, according to their circumstances.

As indicated, the situation remains unpredictable, and will be kept under ongoing review.

Copy of Table Tennis Ireland News

Announcement of ITTA National Awards

The Award recipients are normally announced at the Annual General Meeting, however, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and the delayed National Championships, the Awards were deferred.

Principal among the Awards is the Joe Veselsky Award which is presented each season, in recognition of endeavour and achievement in administration, to a person over the age of 35 years, and who has served a minimum of 5 years. The recipient of this season’s award is Brian Finn, who has for many years been involved in running the Veterans area of table tennis.

He had been responsible for undertaking the onerous task of organizing the Home Nations Veterans Championships when they were staged in Ireland in 2013, and is also leading the project for the 2020 Championships, now postponed until 2021. Brian has been integral to the revival and regeneration of the veterans category in Ireland over the last 10 years and is a worthy recipient of the most prestigious award in Irish table tennis.

The Senior Male Player of the Year has been awarded to end of season Irish No. 1, Ryan Farrell, and the Senior Female Player of the Year to Sophie Earley, also ranked No.1 at the end of the season.

Other Awards decided are:

Junior Male Player of the Year:   Art McLaughlin

Junior Female Player of the Year:   Mia O’Rahilly Egan

Fair Play Award:   Jonathan Mooney

Para Award:   Eoin Kelly

Male Coach of the Year:   Alan Hurley

Female Coach of the Year:   Erin Thompson

Volunteer of the Year:   Henrik Heckmann

Club of the Year:   St. Anne’s, Dungannon

International Performance:   Sophie Earley

The presentation of these awards will take place at a suitable time and venue later in the season.

Congratulations to all recipients of these awards.

Copy of Table Tennis Ireland News


The Association has announced awards to the end of season No. 1 ranked players in all the underage categories.  These are as follows:

  • Under 18 Boys:       Dillon Byrne
  • Under 18 Girls:       Mia O’Rahilly Egan
  • Under 15 Boys:       Jonathan Mooney & Max Skelton(Joint)
  • Under 15 Girls:       Lucy McIvor
  • Under 13 Boys:       Matthew Mooney
  • Under 13 Girls:       Anjali Singh

The awards will be presented to the recipients on a suitable occasion subject to the current government regulations regarding Covid-19.

Copy of Table Tennis Ireland News

Volunteer in Sport Awards 2020

The deadline for nominations is Friday the 25th September 2020. The Awards are sponsored by the EBS.

The Federation of Irish Sport created the Volunteer in Sport awards to ensure the Sport’s Volunteer  is recognised and celebrated on a national scale. The Federation are delighted to partner with EBS to recognise the dedication and passion of these volunteers by heroing them at an awards ceremony. Nominations are open to all members of the public and the award ceremony is due to take place on the 16th November

More information including the application, can be found here


Awards Scheme for the 2019/2020 season now open

Table Tennis Ireland invites nominations under its Awards Scheme for the 2019/2020 season. Nominations for all the Award categories must be received on the specified form by WEDNESDAY 29th of APRIL 2020 at 5pm. Applications can be emailed to [email protected] or posted to  Irish Sport HQ, Sport Ireland National Sports Campus, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15.

Please note that there will be two awards made within the Junior Player of the Year category.

Please click HERE for the Nomination Form and please click HERE for the Criteria for the Awards Scheme

Should you have any queries on the Awards Scheme, please contact by email or by phone at +353 1 6251135.