Ulster Open 2024 Report

Lady Mary Peters celebrated the Ulster Open Table Tennis Centenary Championships Celebrations 1923-2023 with Irish Table Tennis President Pat Hunter, Irish Table Tennis Chairman Arnold Morgan and Ulster Table Tennis Chairman Ranjit Singh. Councilor Allen Ewart NBE and Councilor John Lafferty BE were also in attendance.

In the centenary year of the Ulster Open Championships, it was Ulster’s Paul McCreery and Charlotte Carey from Wales who were the top performers in the Men and Women’s Open Singles, with both players winning the respective titles for the third time.

Ulster’s Phil Wallace started as favourite in the Men’s Masters event and after winning a tight tussle against Paul Gallagher in the QF he survived an epic encounter with Pat McCloughan in the SF coming back from 2-1 down to win in the fifth game. In the other SF Munster’s Philip Shaw got the better of Sylwester Hadjul to reach the final, however, it was the Ulster player who came out on top winning in four games.

In the Women’s Masters Susan Hanlon proved to be too strong for trio Mary Toland, Chui Lin Kwok and Ruth McGilligan.

The Restricted Singles proved to be very competitive which saw Vincent Ni from Dublin go on to win to defeat Tomasz Toman in the final.

In the Para event Jude Sheldon and David McCaughern were involved in some highly entertaining matches, however they both narrowly missed out in qualifying for the SF’s. Paddy Vaughan lifted the title after a thrilling five games win over Para-Olympian Colin Judge.

In the Under 21 Men’s event, Ben Watson played Adam Faulkner and Alex Lo up against his Ormeau clubmate Peadar Sheridan. It was Adam and Peadar who went on to contest the final with Adam winning 11- 8 in the deciding game.

In the Women’s event Lowri Hurd recovered from losing the opening game in her SF against Anjali Singh to win in four games and set up a final with Emily Flynn who edged out Grace Looney in the other SF. In the final Lowri had to come from behind again after losing the first game 13-11 but she recovered to take the next three games and claim the U21 title for the second time in successive years.

The standout performer in the junior events was Ormeau’s highly rated Peadar Sheridan who is currently ranked No.5 in the ETTU standings after a string of impressive performances that includes a silver medal at the WTT event in Podgorica, Montenegro. Having narrowly missed out on winning the U21 title, Peadar claimed both the U19 and U17 Boys titles.

In the U19’s Boys event Peadar gained revenge on Adam Faulkner after his defeat in the U21 final to reach the final.

The U17 Boys event Peadar Sheridan was too strong for Vincent Ni in the final.

Following on from her success in the U21 final, Lowri Hurd completed a double when proving too strong for highly rated young star Grace Looney, who had an excellent win against clubmate Anjali Singh to reach the final.

In the girls U17 SF, Ormeau’s Anjali Singh got the better of Melissa Johnston to set up a final showdown with her clubmate Niamh Mason who reached the final after edging past Rebecca Scott in the other SF. It was Anjali who prevailed in a tightly contested match to win in four games.

In the U15 Boys final, Dublin’s Stefan Bonchev got the better of his older brother Boris to add the Ulster Open title to his growing list of achievements at international events that has seen him move into the top ten in the ITTF U11 world rankings.

In the girls event it was Eimear Hutchinson who got the better of Ahna McDonnell to be crowned U15 Girls champion.

Karsten Close (Boys) and Polly Smith (Girls) were the winners of the U13 events.

In the boys event Karsten defeated clubmate Matthew Bailie in the SF and Adam Hedderly from Loop Club in the final.

In the girls final Polly had to fight for every point to gain victory over Eimear Hutchinson, winning 11-5 in the deciding game.

It was great to see a large entry in the U11 event which was eventually won by Peter Cao from Loop Club who edged out Ormeau’s Tobias Gal in the final.

Full list of results

Men’s Open

  1. Paul McCreery 2. Tom Davis 3. Danny Bawja 4. Adam Faulkner

Men’s Consolation

  1. Alex Lo 2. Sylwester Hadjul

Women’s Open

  1. Charlotte Carey 2. Lowri Hurd 3. Grace looney 4. Emily Flynn

Women’s Consolation

  1. Nives Golub 2. Sabrina Xu

Men’s Masters

  1. Phil Wallace 2. Philip Shaw 3. Pat McCloughan 4. Sylwester Hadjul


  1. Fergal O’Hagan 2. David Irwin

Women’s Masters

  1. Susan Hanlon 2. Mary Toland 3. Ruth McGilligan 4. Chui Lin Kwok

Restricted Singles

  1. Vincent Ni 2. Tomasz Toman 3.Tiago Sauto 4. Mark McAlister

Restricted Consolation

  1. Chris Brennan 2. Keith Mooney

Para Senior

  1. Paddy Vaughan 2. Colin Judge

Para Junior

  1. Aaron Mellows 2. Sam Brennan

Para Consolation

  1. David McCaughern 2. Sean Geoghegan

U21 Men

  1. Adam Faulkner 2. Peadar Sheridan 3. Ben Watson 4. Alex Lo

U21 Men Consolation

  1. Joel Smith 2. Sean Patterson

U21 Women

  1. Lowri Hurd 2. Emily Flynn 3. Anjali Singh 4. Grace Looney

U19 Boys

  1. Peadar Sheridan 2. Tom Irwin 3. Adam Faulkner 4. Vincent Ni

U19 Boys Consolation

  1. Daniel McFaul 2. Conor Sheehan

U19 Girls

  1. Lowri Hurd 2. Grace Looney 3. Anjali Singh 4. Niamh Mason

U19 Girls Consolation

  1. Lily Parke 2. Rebecca Scott

U17 Boys

  1. Peadar Sheridan 2. Vincent Ni 3. Isaac Ellison 4. Aedan McGivern

U17 Boys Consolation

  1. Richard Pattison 2. Jude Sheldon

U17 Girls

  1. Anjali Singh 2. Niamh Mason 3. Rebecca Scott 4. Melissa Johnston

U17 Girls Consolation

  1. Lily Parke 2. Meghan Philip

U15 Boys

  1. Stefan Bonchev 2. Boris Bonchev 3. Clifford Tan 4. Aaditya Singh

U15 Boys Consolation

  1. Ryan Cairns 2. Jacob Coupe

U15 Girls

  1. Eimear Hutchinson 2. Ahna McDonnell

U13 Boys

  1. Karsten Close 2. Adam Hedderly 3. Peter Cao 4. Matthew Bailie

U13 Boys Consolation

  1. Curtis Rutten 2. Ashvik Nandhakumar Caesar Rao

U13 Girls

  1. Polly Smith 2. Eimear Hutchinson 3. Jane Wilson 4. Kelsey Fannin

U13 Girls Consolation

  1. Lea Gal 2. Jenny McQuiston

U11 Boys & Girls

  1. Peter Cao 2. Tobias Gal 3. Reece Maguire 4. Charlie Nash

U11 Consolation

  1. Oisin O’Hare 2. Jack Williamson