Award winners honoured at TTI AGM

The annual TTI awards were presented in Sport HQ over the weekend, as recipients were honoured in front of the audience gathered for this years AGM.

12 awards were presented in total, with some past winners as well as some fresh faces being recognised for outstanding achievement and contribution to Irish Table Tennis over the course of the 2014/2015 season.

Shay Logue

Shay Logue (pictured) spoke eloquently upon receiving the highly distinguished Joe Veselsky Award for his overall contribution to Table Tennis over a sustained period, particularly in ALSAA TTC, where he has made a major contribution over the past 15 years. He has also acted as NPC for both Leinster and Ireland and continues to provide a self-less service to TTI.  

National Champion Paul McCreery once again retained the Rhanbuoy Trophy for the Best Senior Male Player of the Year following another season of domestic dominance. On the womens side, Hannah Lynch Dawson was awarded for her stellar season with the Eleanor McKee Trophy for Best Senior Female Player – just rewards for the Cavan girls efforts in reaching the summit of the womens rankings. Zak Wilson made it a hat-trick of accolades for Ulster as he was presented with the Billy Marshall Award for Top Underage Player. This came on the back of a flawless campaign, particularly on home soil, where the Belfast boy finished the season as the undisputed number 1 Junior boy having won every ranking event he entered over the year. Finally, Rio 2016 hopeful Colin Judge claimed the other playing award up for grabs, as he was recognised following his successful defence at this years National Championships as the Para Player of the Year.

On the coaching side, West Cork’s Alan Hurley was presented with the prestigious Ken Strong Male Coach of the Year award – namely for his outstanding contribution to Table Tennis at all levels throughout Munster, while Louise Long – who now works as a development coach with the Para Squads – was recognised for her contribution over the last 12 months with the Anna Kelly Female Coach of the Year Award.