Welsh Wizard Claims Top Prize in Killarney

Killarney played host to the Stiga sponsored Munster Open over the weekend in the spectacular Irish National Events Centre, with players from Ireland, Wales, Spain, Poland and Hungary making the trip to the  South-west for this prestigious event. And, it didn’t fail to live up to the much hyped, pre-tournament billing, as players and spectators alike were treated to a feast of top class table tennis.

Welsh number 1 Ryan Jenkins came away with the Men’s Singles title after a pulsating encounter with much fancied number 1 seed, Spaniard Oriol Monxo. Jenkins, so often the conqueror in major tournaments around Britain, dazzled the 300 strong crowd which 
surrounded the final match with an outstanding display of attacking table tennis. In the end the title could have gone either way, with both players producing moments of magic in a topsy turvy encounter. After saving a match point before clinching a nail biting 4th set, the match seemed to be turning the way of the classy Spaniard but that only seemed to spur Jenkins on as he moved up the gears to take the deciding 5th set 11-8. Irish interest in the Mens Singles came to a halt at the semi final stage as Jenkins proved too strong for Irish number 1, John Murphy of UCD TTC, while Monxo ended the hopes of Colum Slevin by 3 sets to 1 in a hard fought match. Slevin, now a veteran of the sport and playing on home soil for the first time in over 10 years, after a long professional career in Germany, reminded the Irish crowd of what  a great player he still is as he matched the lightning fast Spaniard point for point in a hugely entertaining match.

In the Women’s Singles event, Naomi Owen from Wales took the top prize, holding off the challenge of Fivemiletown’s Ashley Givan, to claim victory by three sets to one. It was a great performance by the Ulster youngster as Givan, still only 16 years old, continues to make impressive strides.

In the Junior events, Eastpoint’s Ryan Farrell continued his great form this season by taking the Cadet title against Club Donic’s Shizhao Li, in a high quality 5 set battle, filled with spectacular long rallies as both players showed their promise for the future. In the Cadet girls event, 10 year old Katie McGlone produced an amazing performance to take the title as she stormed to victory with a comprehensive 3-0 victory over the Irish Number 1 Hannah Lynch Dawson. This was the first national open victory for the young Dubliner who showed just why she is one to watch over the coming years. In the Junior Boys, Ballincollig TTC’s Declan O’Brien overcame Irish International team-mate, Ulster’s Ashley Robinson, in straight sets to continue his excellent form this season. While in the Junior Girls, Ashley Givan claimed another title with victory over the talented Edel O’Reilly, on a scoreline of 3-1.

Mens Singles ; 1. R. Jenkins (UCD/Wal) 2. O. Monxo (Esp) 3. C. Slevin(Unat) & J. Murphy(UCD)
 Mens Class II ; 1. R. Flood (UCD) ; 2. T Pofok (CYM Terenure)
Vets ; 1. R Swirk (Pol) ; 2. A. Redmond(KTTC).
Doubles ; 1. R. Jenkins (UCD/Wal)/G. Maguire(UCD) ; 2. C. Slevin(Unat)/J. Murphy(UCD)
U21 ; 1. C. O Rourke (St. Johns) ; 2. J. Herley (Ballincollig)
Junior Boys ; 1. D O’Brien (Ballincollig) ; 2. A Robinson (Fivemiletown) ; 3. S. Logue (ALSAA)
Cadet Boys ; 1. R. Farrell (Eastpoint) ; 2. ; S. Zhao Li (Club Donic); 3. C. Mullally Club Donic)
U12 Boys ; 1. Z Wilson ; 2. R. McConkey (Fivemiletown) ; 3. G. O’Donoghue
U10 Boys ; 1. J. Kelly (Goleen) ; 2. E. Ditchburn (Mayo) ; 3. P. Cooney

Women Singles ; 1.N Owen(Wal) ; 2. A Givan (Fivemiletown) ; 3. R. Kacsandi (CYM) & E.O’Reilly
Doubles ; 1. R. Kascandi (CYM)/T. Devaney (CYM) 2. N. Owen (Wal)/S. Timlin (Fivemiletown)
U21 ; 1. C. McCullagh (York Rd) 2. H Xie (Chi) ; 3. K. Ong (Chi).
Junior Girls ; 1. A Givan (Fivemilwtown) ; 2. E. O’Reilly (Ballincollig) ; 3. H. Lynch Dawson
Cadet Girls ; 1. K McGlone (Eastpoint) 2. H. Lynch Dawson 3. E. Ludlow (Glenburn)
U12 Girls ; 1. V. Poutrolis ; 2. O. Timlin ; 3. N Nguyen (St. Ronans)
U10  Girls ; 1. L. Sheklton ; 2. K. Whelan ; 3 M. Williams

Mx Doubles ; 1. R. Jenkins (UCD/Wal)/N. Owen (Wal) ; 2. G. Maguire (UCD)/R. Kacsandi (CYM)