Volunteers Presented with Awards at Senior Classification

At the recent ITTA Senior Classification event, Association President Joseph Hickey was on hand to make presentations to two of our Volunteers for their the contributions to Irish Table Tennis. These Awards were announced at the ITTA AGM as part of the Association’s Annual Presentations, but the two recipients could not make it due to other commitments – both were delighted to have their awards presented by the President before a large crowd of table tennis players, coaches and volunteers.

First to receive his award was Tommy Keenan who received the Joe Veselsky Award. In presenting the award, Mr.Hickey highlighted the very worthy recipient’s 15 years service as Leinster Branch Secretary, his work as a very active Umpire and Tournament Referee and also as compiler of the Junior rankings for many years.

The President also said that “ the Joe Veselsky award, named after a former President, is the highest award in Irish table tennis and Tommy Keenan is a worthy addition to the recipients who have gone before him.” He went on to say, that “table tennis, like many other sports is highly dependent on the work of people like Mr Keenan and he was delighted to present the award on behalf of the Association, in recognition of his outstanding contribution over many years”. 

Volunteer of the Year Award

Second to receive an award was Con O’Ceadaigh (pictured), who was presented with the Volunteer of the Year Award. Con came in to Irish table tennis initially through the Special Olympics World Games in 2003. Since then he has been an active Umpire, but, in more recent times, he has made a valuable contribution as Tournament Referee at a number of major National and Provincial events. The President commented that “acting as Tournament Referee is a very demanding task and Mr. O’ Ceadaigh has been a fantastic addition to the ITTA Events Committee team”.

Having received their awards, both Tommy and Con returned to their work at the top table of the Senior Classification. 

Truly dedicated volunteers!