ITTA Awards 2013: Summary of Winners

The Annual ITTA Awards were presented by ITTA President Joe Hickey to their recipients at the ITTA AGM held in the wonderful new Sport HQ, Dublin  on Saturday 8th June 2013.

President of the ITTA, Joe Hickeypaid tribute to all award recipients –

“The pursuit and achievement of excellence by players, officials and volunteers requires ability, hard work and determination. The ITTA is delighted to recognise and honour the success of the recipients who have all worked for many years to arrive at the high standards required to be chosen for an award. I have no doubt that their success will be widely applauded and will encourage others to continue with their personal goals

Joe Veselsky Award: Ivan Shorten

The Joe Veselsky Award is presented in recognition of endeavour and achievement in administration; it is only open to members of the ITTA over the age of 35 who have served a minimum of 5 years in administrative positions within table tennis. It is seen to many as a sort of Lifetime Achievement Award, recognition of the recipient’s work for Table Tennis over a long number of years.

This year the Awards Panel decided to award the “Joe Veselsky” to Ivan Shorten. Ivan has been a stalwart of his club for many years, having first become Chairman in 1982 and is still in the Chair. He was instrumental in raising £15,000 to have an extension built and opened in 1988. Numbers continue to rise in the club and many from there have represented Ireland and Munster. Club now has a training facility with 12 tables. He has visited local schools in an attempt to encourage young people into the club;  the club was twinned with a French Club, Goudelin in Brittany and a number of exchange visits were arranged. Ivan continues to coach in local schools and has coached teams from Munster when they played in the World Schools Championships. He has coached Junior Interpros Teams as well as representing his province’s Veterans’ Team in Senior Interpros. He also is involved in coaching Special Olympic players. The Panel recognised Ivan’s ability as an all rounder – good administrator, player, coach and fundraiser!!

Stiga Volunteer of the Year Shield:  Terri McKeon

The STIGA Ireland Volunteer of the Year Shield is given to someone who gives up their time and skills to table tennis over the year. This year the recipient of the award was Terri McKeon. Terri has given many years’ service,  more than 25 years , as a Committee member and League Secretary of the Leinster League. She has arranged Inter League matches, etc. and deals with all the day to day and general duties of the Secretary of a large league. In addition, she is a qualified National Umpire who helps at tournaments when she is available.

Billy Marshall Award: Katie McGlone

The Billy Marshall Award is awarded to the Best Junior/Cadet/Under 12 player of the season taking into account not only the player’s results in tournaments but also his or her playing programme. This year the award went to Katie McGlone from Dublin. Ranked No. 1 in both Cadet & Junior Rankings at end of season, Katie won 4 Cadet and 1 Junior Irish Ranking Tournament this season as well as achieving several exceptional international results, including;

·         ITTF World Junior Circuit Swedish Open February 2012

Hopes Singles Bronze medal

·         ITTF Hopes Week Falkenberg June 2012( World Event for Under 12)

Finished 9th place

·         Liverpool Senior Grand Prix – August 2012

Silver medal in Band 3 Women’s Singles

·         Sussex 4* Junior Event – Sept 2012

Gold medal in U13 event

Bronze medal in Cadets event

·         Six Nations March 2013

Bronze medal in Cadet singles

Silver medal in Cadet Team event

·         Slovakia Open March 2013

Bronze medal in Cadet Doubles event

Quarter Finalist in Cadet Singles event

Para Table Tennis Award: Ronan  Rooney

This year was the inaugural presentation of the Para TT Award. The Panel made the award to Ronan Rooney who hasbeen a dedicated Volunteer and player in Para/wheelchair Table Tennis for many years. Ronan represented Ireland in London 2012 Paralympics and many other international events, winning a Silver medal in Irish Open in doubles with his partner, Philip Quinlan. He also competed in the Italian Open and Slovenia Open. He achieved selection for the Paralympics 2012 which he clinched through his results at the Argentine Open. He won a Bronze in the Singles and a Silver in the Team Event. Ronan also plays a major role in developing the sport in Ireland and is a deserving winner of this historic award.

Eleanor McKee Trophy: Teresa Devaney

Female Player of the Year was Teresa Devanney. A consistent winner of Veterans tournaments in Ireland and England, Teresa won Team Gold medal in Over 50s Singles in the 6 Nations Veterans as well as Doubles Gold medal in Over 50s Doubles; She also won the Over 60s Singles Gold. Her successes include  winning Individuals and Doubles in Veterans National Championships in Bristol +many other UK titles. The icing on the cake was her phenomenal performance in the recent European Veterans Championships in Bremen , Teresa won a Bronze medal in Over 60s Singles – A MAGNIFICENT ACHIEVEMENT!!  A first medal won by an Irish Woman at European level.


This year we had a player who was a treble Gold medallist at the 6 Nations Seniors: i.e. Gold in Singles, Gold in Women’s Team and Gold in overall Tem Event. She won any tournaments she played in in Ireland. Most importantly, she also played in the 2012 Olympics in London – ITTA’s first player ever to play in the Olympics To give you some idea of how difficult it was for her to qualify for London 2012 some of her results in the pre-selection period were:

–          Reached last 64 in China Open losing to the winner

–          In final World Olympic Qualification Event in Doha, she faced players of much higher ranking – she was at WR 244 – and she took to the task with style. She defeated the World No. 87 from France and then World No. 117 from Poland, lost finally to top Spanish player, Sara Ramirez.

The complete list of the recipients of the ITTA Awards 2013 is:

Joe Veselsky Award: Ivan Shorten

Anna Kelly Female Coach of the Year Award: Anne Ludlow

Ken Strong Male Coach of the Year Award: Jimmy Hayes

Press Officer of the Year: Brian Finn

STIGA Ireland Volunteer of the Year Shield: Terri McKeon

Billy Marshall Award (Best Junior/Cadet Player of the Season): Katie McGlone

Eleanor McKee Trophy (Female Player of the Year): Teresa Devanney

Rhanbouy Trophy (Male Player of the Year): Paul McCreery

Special Award: Na Liu

Para TT Award: Ronan Rooney